Is The Republican Majority In NC Using Democrat Roy Cooper For Cover On Gun Rights?

As the alert from Grass Roots North Carolina states below, the Republicans have held a veto-proof majority in both houses of the North Carolina General Assembly for the last three sessions. It seems that they are more interested in who can use a public restroom than in protecting an enumerated Constitutional right that is found in both the US and North Carolina Constitutions. It is time to say, “Get real!” and remind them that the reason many North Carolinians put them in office was to protect and enhance our fundamental right to self-protection which includes getting rid of the racially-inspired pistol purchase permit system.

From GRNC’s alert:

REPUBLICANS SURRENDER,

GOV. COOPER CALLS THE SHOTS

NC Republicans are failing to support the Second Amendment, and you’ll never believe their excuse

Since voters have given the GOP a
veto-proof majority, three elections in a row,
you might expect the Republicans to use the power we’ve vested in them
to
push the principles of a free republic; to fight for the recognition and
protection of long-eroding gun rights, for example. Unfortunately, if
you
expected this you would be disappointed. Republicans have gone squishy
on gun rights, and you’ll probably be perplexed by their excuse.

Anti-gun Governor is Calling the Shots for Republicans

Republicans have cited a likely “veto from Governor Cooper” as a reason to sell out gun
owners
. They think they don’t have the votes to override a veto. So, like true RINOs, the legislative actions the House majority
are willing to take are predicated on one thought: “what would Governor Cooper do?”

Entire GOP
Caucus Running Cover for RINOs


There is no reason that
House
leaders and committee chairs can’t see these bills to the House floor
for a recorded vote and simply let the votes fall where they may. Then
why
won’t they? It’s simple. If they were unable to pass a particular
pro-gun bill, or were unable to override Gov. Cooper’s veto, the
squishy, anti-gun RINOs who caused the failure would be exposed for what
they are—Pro-gun in Name Only. To keep these softer Republicans from
being exposed, the entire caucus is covering for them by hoisting the
white flag without a fight. This of course makes all of them complicit
in the
anti-gun charade.

A Ray of Hope

Although it is thin gruel, Rep. Chris
Millis
(R-Onslow, Pender) did indeed attach a fiscal note to pro-gun
legislation. The fiscal note means that a bill isn’t required to meet
the
fast approaching crossover deadline in order to remain viable. That
gives gun rights supporters more time to contact Republican
representatives to ask
them why Governor Cooper is running the Republican Party, and insist
Republicans get in gear and push through these important pro-Second
Amendment
bills.

Email and Call – Every Day

Please email and phone the Republican sellouts every
day. Below, under ‘Immediate Action Required’ and ‘Deliver
This Message,’ see how you can easily do this. Republican politicians
have banded together to sell you out, and they’re on the cusp of
making it official. The Republicans need to know that you are aware of
this, and you’re not going to stand for it. They also need to know that
you expect them to revive the gun legislation they’re trying to kill and
get it to the floor for a vote. This message, from gun owners like you,
who gave them their House seats, must be hammered home—daily.

If House Republicans are going to stand as a group against gun owners, they will be held accountable
as a group.



IMMEDIATE ACTION REQUIRED!


  • EVERY DAY, PLEASE PHONE YOUR NC REPRESENTATIVE AND THE SPEAKER OF THE
    HOUSE
    . Use the Speaker’s phone number provided below, and the link provided to find your
    representative.
    Speaker Moore:  919-733-3451

    Click here to find
    your representative and get his or her phone number
    (or go to: http://www.ncleg.net/representation/WhoRepresentsMe.aspx)

    Ask
    them why, as the
    super-majority party, they are basing legislative decisions on our
    anti-gun governor’s platform, and why they’ve ceded power to him without
    a
    fight. Gov. Cooper should not be running the Republican Party.

    Tell them you are aware that
    pro-gun legislation is still alive, and insist that they get it to the
    floor for a
    vote. If the Republican Caucus is going to stand as a group with
    Governor Cooper, then gun owners will hold them accountable as a group.


  • PLEASE
    EMAIL THE NC REPUBLICAN CAUCUS EVERY DAY
    . Use the copy paste email lists(s) and the copy/paste email text provided below under ‘Deliver This
    Message.’
CONTACT INFO 
House Republican Caucus copy/paste email *list(s):
Jay.Adams@ncleg.net;
Dean.Arp@ncleg.net; John.Bell@ncleg.net; Hugh.Blackwell@ncleg.net;
John.Blust@ncleg.net; Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net; John.Bradford@ncleg.net;
Bill.Brawley@ncleg.net; Mark.Brody@ncleg.net; Dana.Bumgardner@ncleg.net;
Justin.Burr@ncleg.net; Mike.Clampitt@ncleg.net;
George.Cleveland@ncleg.net; Jeff.Collins@ncleg.net;
Debra.Conrad@ncleg.net; Kevin.Corbin@ncleg.net;
Ted.Davis@ncleg.net; Jimmy.Dixon@ncleg.net; Josh.Dobson@ncleg.net;
Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net; Andy.Dulin@ncleg.net; Jeffrey.Elmore@ncleg.net;
John.Faircloth@ncleg.net; Carl.Ford@ncleg.net; John.Fraley@ncleg.net;
Larry.Pittman@ncleg.net;


Michael.Speciale@ncleg.net;
Beverly.Boswell@ncleg.net; Holly.Grange@ncleg.net;
Destin.Hall@ncleg.net; Kyle.Hall@ncleg.net; Jon.Hardister@ncleg.net;
Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.net;
Cody.Henson@ncleg.net; Craig.Horn@ncleg.net; Julia.Howard@ncleg.net;
Pat.Hurley@ncleg.net; Frank.Iler@ncleg.net; Linda.Johnson2@ncleg.net;
Bert.Jones@ncleg.net; Brenden.Jones@ncleg.net;
Jonathan.Jordan@ncleg.net; Donny.Lambeth@ncleg.net;
David.Lewis@ncleg.net; Chris.Malone@ncleg.net;
Susan.Martin@ncleg.net; Pat.McElraft@ncleg.net; Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net;
Allen.McNeill@ncleg.net; Tim.Moore@ncleg.net; Gregory.Murphy@ncleg.net;

Chris.Millis@ncleg.net; Larry.Potts@ncleg.net;
Michele.Presnell@ncleg.net; Dennis.Riddell@ncleg.net;
David.Rogers@ncleg.net; Stephen.Ross@ncleg.net;
Jason.Saine@ncleg.net; John.Sauls@ncleg.net; Mitchell.Setzer@ncleg.net;
Phil.Shepard@ncleg.net; Bob.Steinburg@ncleg.net;
Sarah.Stevens@ncleg.net;
Scott.Stone@ncleg.net; Larry.Strickland@ncleg.net; John.Szoka@ncleg.net;
John.Torbett@ncleg.net; Rena.Turner@ncleg.net; Harry.Warren@ncleg.net;
Sam.Watford@ncleg.net; Donna.White@ncleg.net; Linda.Williams@ncleg.net;
Larry.Yarborough@ncleg.net; Lee.Zachary@ncleg.net;

*Spam filters or email program limitations may cause the need to send more than one email, to cover the entire
list of representatives. If so, the list above is split into pieces, for your convenience.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *