GRNC Alert: School Safety Is Up To NC House Republicans

Rep. Larry Pittman (R-Cabarrus, Rowan) is planning to offer a substitute amendment to the NC Senate’s S 5 – School Safety Omnibus. It would create the position of volunteer school faculty guardian. Requirements would be a 16-hour training course from the NC Criminal Justice and Training Standards Commission, drug testing, and possession of a NC Concealed Handgun Permit. It would only apply to those who are either full or part-time faculty or staff of a school. The substitute is based upon his HB 216.

GRNC says, and I agree, that it is time to push Republicans in the proper direction on school safety.

From the alert:

SCHOOL SAFETY IS UP TO
NC HOUSE
REPUBLICANS





Pro-gun stalwart to offer full school protection bill as an amendment…

If you follow GRNC’s alerts, then you know that GRNC 4-star statesman, Rep. Larry Pittman
(Cabarrus,
Rowan), can always be counted on to stand for your gun rights. In fact,
he not only stands for them, he takes strides to advance them, and
advance a
pro-gun bill is exactly what Rep. Pittman intends to do, with your help.

Studies Show

Studies by the Crime
Prevention Research Center
(CPRC), with respected researcher Dr. John Lott at its helm, have concluded that schools that allow educators and
administrators to be armed are much (much) safer than their gun-free counterparts.  To read more about the CPRC’s study, click here. Incidentally, thanks to GRNC’s hard-working volunteers, NC’s House Republicans have been made well aware of this
study and its results, so any legislator’s claimed ignorance of this truth is not viable.

Help Rep. Pittman
Help North Carolina

Rep. Pittman intends to offer House Bill 216 (H216) (School Self-Defense
Act), in its entirety, as an amendment to Senate Bill
5
(S5) (School Safety Omnibus), which is quite alive, but has just
been sent back to the Rules Committee. We must encourage the Rules
Committee
members and other House Republicans to either allow a full hearing for
H216 or to move forward with S5, with H216 as an amendment. 

Note that the addition of language
from H216 to S5 (or the passage of H216 by itself, in its entirety)
would make school protection complete—entirely practical and most
importantly: effective. The uniting of these two bills (or H216 alone)
would be a great development, however, Rep. Pittman needs your help if
this is
to happen.

Push Republicans in the Right Direction
Below,
see how you can easily contact the House Republican caucus to insist
they do the right thing. To give them the push they need, please use the
information provided below to send them a message.  (Note: GRNC will be
tracking legislators’ votes on this, and it will go down on
their gun-rights record—for better or worse).

Support “Rights Watch
International
AmazonSmile Learn more about Rights Watch
International


You shop. Amazon
Gives.
(What is Amazon Smile?)


IMMEDIATE ACTION REQUIRED!



  • EMAIL THE REPUBLICAN HOUSE CAUCUS: Apart
    from a few reliable pro-gun statesman, the copy/paste email list(s)
    below will allow
    you to send your message to all House Republicans. For the message body,
    use the copy/paste text provided in the ‘Deliver This Message’
    section, also below.

  • PLEASE CONTRIBUTE TO GRNC: Help us fight gun control while we promote Second Amendment principles. Please CLICK HERE to contribute. Bear in mind that GRNC is an all-volunteer organization, so you can be sure your
    donations are put to the best possible use. Any amount helps, and any amount is appreciated.

NC House Republicans Copy/Paste Email *Lists(s):

Dean.Arp@ncleg.net;
Lisa.Barnes@ncleg.net; John.Bell@ncleg.net;
Hugh.Blackwell@ncleg.net; Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net;
William.Brisson@ncleg.net; Mark.Brody@ncleg.net;
Dana.Bumgardner@ncleg.net; Jerry.Carter@ncleg.net;
Debra.Conrad@ncleg.net; Kevin.Corbin@ncleg.net; Ted.Davis@ncleg.net;
Jimmy.Dixon@ncleg.net; Josh.Dobson@ncleg.net; Jeffrey.Elmore@ncleg.net;
John.Faircloth@ncleg.net; John.Fraley@ncleg.net;
Edward.Goodwin@ncleg.net; Holly.Grange@ncleg.net; Destin.Hall@ncleg.net;

Kyle.Hall@ncleg.net; Bobby.Hanig@ncleg.net;
Jon.Hardister@ncleg.net; Kelly.Hastings@ncleg.net;
Cody.Henson@ncleg.net; Craig.Horn@ncleg.net; Julia.Howard@ncleg.net;
Chris.Humphrey@ncleg.net;
Pat.Hurley@ncleg.net; Frank.Iler@ncleg.net; Steve.Jarvis@ncleg.net;
LindaP.Johnson@ncleg.net; Brenden.Jones@ncleg.net;
Donny.Lambeth@ncleg.net;
David.Lewis@ncleg.net; Pat.McElraft@ncleg.net; Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net;
Allen.McNeill@ncleg.net; Tim.Moore@ncleg.net; Gregory.Murphy@ncleg.net;

Larry.Potts@ncleg.net;
Michele.Presnell@ncleg.net; Dennis.Riddell@ncleg.net;
David.Rogers@ncleg.net; Stephen.Ross@ncleg.net; Jason.Saine@ncleg.net;
Wayne.Sasser@ncleg.net;
John.Sauls@ncleg.net; Mitchell.Setzer@ncleg.net; Phil.Shepard@ncleg.net;
Carson.Smith@ncleg.net; Sarah.Stevens@ncleg.net;
Larry.Strickland@ncleg.net;
John.Szoka@ncleg.net; John.Torbett@ncleg.net; Rena.Turner@ncleg.net;
Harry.Warren@ncleg.net; Donna.White@ncleg.net;
Larry.Yarborough@ncleg.net;
Lee.Zachary@ncleg.net

*
Spam filters and the limitations of some
email programs may require you to send this message to a smaller list of
recipients. If necessary in your case, the above email list is
conveniently
split into multiple parts to allow you to easily send this message more
than once—once to each list.


DELIVER THIS MESSAGE

Suggested Subject: “Republicans Must Protect School Children Now”  
Dear Representative,

I’m delighted to have learned of the push to amend S5 (School Safety Omnibus) with the entirety of H216 (School Self-Defense Act).
The uniting of these two bills would be a wonderful development and is
exactly what is required to protect North Carolina’s school children in a
practical and effective manner. I have also been informed that S5 has
been sent back to the Rules Committee, which would allow for a committee
hearing for S5 in the coming days.

With the protection of the children in our state’s schools in
mind, I must insist that one of two things occur:

1) H216, in its entirety, should be heard on the House floor and receive a vote; or

2) SB5 should be heard in the Rules committee, and H216 should subsequently be allowed as an amendment.

Through the work of the Crime Prevention
Research
Center, with respected researcher Dr. John Lott at its helm, we now have
unambiguous, academic studies showing schools that allow teachers and
faculty
to be armed are much, much safer than their gun-free counterparts. There
is just no way around it, allowing adults who are on scene to protect
their
students in a practical, immediate manner is the only way to effectively
save the lives of school children, should the worst occur.

With this in mind, Representative,
whose
side are you on? I know which side I’m on, the side that puts children
under an umbrella of genuine protection, an umbrella provided by the
responsible adults who surround them.

Our state’s school children must be protected. To make this
good and proper sentiment a reality, I insist that you push for the
uniting of H216 and S5, or a full hearing and vote for H216, that you
vote for them in committee (where that may apply), and on the House
floor,
ultimately voting in favor of protecting school children.

I’ve been informed that GRNC will be
tracking votes on the amendment and on the amended bill. Of course, gun
owners will also be watching, but perhaps most importantly, concerned
parents will be watching.

I’ll be monitoring your actions on this matter through alerts from Grass
Roots North Carolina.

Respectively, 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *