Smug Mugs In NC Senate Need A Reminder Who Put Them There

Leave it to Alex Trebek and Jeopardy to help me with a headline.

Nonetheless, the Republicans in the North Carolina State Senate need a reminder that it was gun owners and their votes that helped them get a super-majority. They currently are dragging their feet on HB 746 – the Omnibus Gun Bill – which has passed the House and which contains constitutional carry as one of its provisions. With the projected adjournment date of July 1st fast approaching, they need to act soon or all gun rights legislation will be lost for 2017.

Grass Roots North Carolina is calling upon gun owners to contact the Republican leadership, all Republican state senators, and their own state senator to urge them to get a move on regarding HB 746.

ARE SMUG REPUBLICANS

BRUSHING OFF GUN VOTERS?



Does it now appear that NC’s Republican Senators were never serious about Constitutional
Carry…? 

Are Smug Republicans Working to Kill Constitutional Carry?

After pro-gun posturing by
Republicans in the NC Senate, it turns out they may never have had any
intention of
voting with gun owners on HB746. Senate leadership insisted, as long as
gun owners were patient, as long as we were quiet, and we minded our
“Ps&Qs,” we could count on the Senate to uphold their own Party
platform, live up to campaign rhetoric, and push Constitutional Carry to
the governor’s desk. Well, we’ve re-learned the lesson about the value
of a politician’s promises. With the projected date of
adjournment fast approaching, July 1st, Republican senators have yet to
budge on Second Amendment legislation.  If they don’t move
NOW, all gun legislation is likely dead for 2017!

Remind Senators of Approaching
Elections


Thank goodness for the ballot box. Every time
an
election is over, there is always another one just down the road. And
nowadays, voters have electronic reminders on their phones, a
twenty-four hour
news cycle, GRNC’s alerts, and GRNC’s “Remember in November” campaign to
remind them during Primary season, and again in November,
which politicians stood with them, and which did not. Nowadays, finding
new blood to send to Raleigh is almost too easy.

With that in mind, we’re
asking you to once again phone a couple of key Republican senators,
along with your own senator, and to also send an email to the entire
Republican
Senate. It appears that the entire Republican caucus may be giving you
the brush off, and one wonders if they’re having a good laugh over the
little
trick they played: “Be patient with us, and we’ll live up to our Party’s
platform and our campaign promises.”

Wipe That Smug Smile off Their Faces

Well, we’re not laughing, and if these senators do not immediately
redeem themselves in the eyes of gun rights supporters, we the voters
will
have the last laugh—during election season. Below, see how you can
convey this message to the Republicans in the Senate, particularly a
couple
of senators in leadership positions.


IMMEDIATE ACTION REQUIRED!


  • CALL KEY SENATE REPUBLICANS AND YOUR SENATOR (Do this immediately. Time is running out. Leave a voice-mail if you must):
    Phone numbers for two key Senate leaders are listed below.
    Use the link
    provided find your own senator’s phone number. Use the following text to deliver a phone message:
Hello,
I am calling Senator [name] because I’m incensed
over the treatment gun owners like me are receiving from Senate
leadership, and by extension, from all Senate Republicans. Gun voters
like me have
been politely requesting the advancement of HB746, and we’ve been
patiently waiting amid promises that the bill will be heard in caucus
and sent
to the Senate floor for a vote. None of this is happening and time is
up. You must move HB746 Thursday (June 22).

It’s
beginning to seem as
though gun owners  were duped by the double-talk of establishment
politicians. With this in mind, I demand that HB746 be sent to the floor
for a
vote, and then on to the Governor’s desk immediately. If it is not, you
can be 100% sure that this will not be forgotten, and I will be looking
for a primary candidate in 2018. Reminders on my phone will be set so I
don’t forget how the Senator treated me during a non-election year, and
I will be paying close attention to GRNC alerts and their “Remember in
November” campaign during 2018. Get HB746 to the floor, and to the
Governor’s desk now. Thank you.

  • EMAIL THE ALL SENATE
    REPUBLICANS
    : use the
    copy/paste email address list(s) below, and the copy/paste text provided under ‘Deliver This Message.’
CONTACT INFO
Sen. Phil Berger: (919)
733-5708

Sen. Bill Rabon: (919) 733-5963

Click Here to find your Senator, and call him/her, too

(or go
to:
http://www.ncleg.net/representation/WhoRepresentsMe.aspx).

NC Senate Republicans copy/paste email *list(s):

John.Alexander@ncleg.net;
Deanna.Ballard@ncleg.net; Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net;
Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net; Phil.Berger@ncleg.net; Dan.Bishop@ncleg.net;
Danny.Britt@ncleg.net;
Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net; Harry.Brown@ncleg.net; Bill.Cook@ncleg.net;
David.Curtis@ncleg.net; Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net;

Jim.Davis@ncleg.net;
Cathy.Dunn@ncleg.net; Chuck.Edwards@ncleg.net; Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net;
Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net; Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net; Rick.Horner@ncleg.net;
Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net; Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.net; Michael.Lee@ncleg.net;
Tom.McInnis@ncleg.net; Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net;

Paul.Newton@ncleg.net;
Louis.Pate@ncleg.net; Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net; Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net;
Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net; Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net;
Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net;
Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net; Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net; Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net;
Andy.Wells@ncleg.net


*Spam
filters or email program limitations may
cause the need to send more than one email, to cover the entire list of
representatives. If so, the list above is split into three pieces, for
your
convenience.

DELIVER THIS MESSAGE

Suggested Subject:
Move HB746 Now or Face Voters’ Wrath”  
Dear Senator:



I am writing today because it
appears
that the Republican Senate’s interest in passing Constitutional Carry
and other pro-gun legislation, in the form of HB746, may have been
entirely insincere.
To be clear: I am insisting that HB746 be moved through
caucus and to the Senate floor on Thursday, June 22nd; not a day later.
I fear that senators’ talk about gun rights was only
posturing designed to hush gun owners while Republicans quietly brushed
us off. I am insisting you alleviate that fear with action. 

This
non-action on gun rights is unacceptable, and I assure you, if the
Republicans in the Senate do not redeem themselves by sending HB746 to
the floor
for a vote, and ultimately to the Governor’s desk, there will be heavy
political consequences. Keep in mind, after you adjourn this year, there
is yet another legislative session next year, and gun owners like me
will not stop pushing for our civil rights. We will continue to demand
that you
live up to your pro-gun rhetoric.

Thank goodness for the ballot box, and
the times we live in do indeed complement the ballot box quite well.
Never
have voters had so much power at their fingertips. Memories have never
been longer, with electronic reminders on our phones (which can be setup
years
ahead of the next election), a twenty-four hour news cycle, GRNC alerts,
and GRNC’s “Remember in November” campaign to name a few
useful tools. Yes, these simple tools remind gun voters like me, during
Primary season, and again in November, which politicians stood with me,
and
which did not during an odd-numbered year. 

Frankly, I am incensed
over your treatment of gun owners like me. We’ve done our job. We have
consistently renewed your veto-proof majority, and supported you when
you needed us, with our money and our votes. Now, as our
representatives,
it’s time to live up to your end of the bargain. Support the Party
platform you profess to believe in. Follow through on your pro-Second
Amendment campaign rhetoric.

Move HB746 to the Senate floor for a vote
now—on Thursday, June 22nd. Vote “yes,” and send it to the
Governor’s desk. Voters will not forget your actions during this
critical time.

I will be monitoring your actions on Constitutional Carry
through
alerts from Grass Roots North Carolina.

Respectfully,


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *